The Dawn of the Franken-Cruiser

Did a ton more reading of the IH8Mud forums.

Called Radd Cruisers in Duncan B.C. to get the straight professional opinion on BJ60s. First thing was a rundown on rust repair costs. Pretty much a mirror of what I got from TorFab. Don’t buy a rusty one. Next I head: “there are no more good BJ60s in Canada.” “Some people put Californian FJ60 bodies on their Canadian drivetrains.” “We recently completed a BJ60 restoration, $51k, $10k of that was the bodywork.” Sheesh!

He says: “Sometimes there’s a clean one for sale, you need to be patient, they’re out there but be prepared to spend $8k-to $10k for it.”

Dang.

I start wondering why I can’t find a good vehicle in Canada. Start searching Vancouver Craigslist.

I first find one for $10k. “Usual rust”. Like all Canadians, owner is very polite, nice. He’s also quite happy to talk about (aboot) his truck. Talks about the AXT Turbo and how happy he is with the power. Stresses the importance of a dialed in fuel map and not running too much boost. He has a Boost Gauge to measure turbo pressure and a Pyrometer to measure exhaust gas temps (EGT). Says the big deal for engine life is that exhaust temps shouldn’t exceed 1150 and 1200 degrees. Above that point the engine is too hot inside and the metal will be compromised. Sweet truck, lots of mods but doesn’t look bad to me. I ask about rust “Oh, just a little, not much at all!” He sends me pictures and Ouch! Tons of Rust on rear frame and suspension mounts. Frame is toast. It does have a great stereo though… 😦

And after the nice chat with Mr $10k, I decide to call the ad for the most expensive bj60 in bc craigslist: the FrankenCruiser…

Next one is this, sort of too expensive but doesn’t hurt to ask, or talk to him:

The FrankenCruiser

The FrankenCruiser

Called him from work and left a message on his voice mail. No response I called again the next day and he answered. Just back from a long vacation away from cell phone coverage. Sorry that he hadn’t called, he’d had lots of messages on his voicemail including interest in the car.

I spent about 45 minutes talking with him. Super nice guy with great sense of humor, low key. He built the car for a vacation he was planning with his wife from BC up to Alaska. Built to be his expedition car. Unfortunately he didn’t complete in time for his wife’s deadline so they flew to Alaska. Later he completed the vehicle, made it ready for his wife to use to commute to her job as a school teacher. First day the vehicle is ready, he watches through the curtins… wife goes out… walks past her truck… starts up her Subaru. Days turn to weeks, weeks to months and a year later she hasn’t taken to it.

I call this one the FrankenCruiser because its built from the best bits of 7 different Land Cruisers. Problem is:

  • too expensive: $12.5!
  • big huge silly wheels
  • big winch and bumper that for me only hurt the fuel economy

Thinking for a few days… Hey. That is the only rust free BJ60 I’ve found. Its something I could actually own. Problems for me are the extra stuff and the Price. Maybe he can sell that desirable stuff up in BC, I can buy the vehicle for less money… I work this fantasy out in my head. Fancy wheels, fancy tires (those wide mud tires a bucks!), fancy bumper, $1700 wench! Surely he can sell that stuff of to the cruiser crowd in BC, and sell the vehicle I want to me?!

I go to call him, no answer, I leave a voice mail. I get a pad of paper ready with what I want listed clearly, to coach myself when we speak.

Next day I call again, a little desperate now… again I leave a voice mail message.

I drive to work mulling over the phone conversation I want to have. Probably the most convincing and polite thing I could do is show him comparable vehicles. When something isn’t selling the best thing is determine the market price. I search for “rust free land cruiser”, then “zero rust land cruiser”, and I put every truck I find into my list with Price and Rustiness. Need to find sale prices for Rustless BJ60s.

And it was then that I discovered…. The Root Beer Brown Beauty!

Leave a comment