Elephant in the Room – Importing from Canadia?

When porsche stopped importing its 930 in 1980 through 1985, it opened up a weird market for Grey Market Cars. These cars did not meet federal import requirements, so rich cool 80’s people would pay companies to import and modify the cars to be complient with US law, get them tested or somehow approved. This meant changing out the speedometers, welding tubes into the doors, modifying the exhaust so the car could pass emissions, and also apparently a mountain of paperwork. These grey market cars got a very Bad Rap because some were done poorly and not completely legally. Or maybe it was just the american dealers that just slandered them so successfully. I dunno. There were cases where owners got screwed by the importers and later buyers couldn’t register their vehicles. Caveat Emptor.

And then I’ve run into odd ball Fanatikal Lotus Owner who brought in a Lotus Elise Series 1 Piece by Piece and Registered it as a Kit Kar…

So I was pretty impressed when I saw a BJ60 or two for sale on the Seattle Craigslist. These people must be some kinda WiZZards to be able to navigate the ocean of paperwork needed to meet the strict requirements of US Customs, The EPA, and the Various States, not to forget Canadian Customs.

I got your car in this Jar, Eh!

I got your car in this Jar, Eh!

Started to investigate on IH8Mud.com, several huge threads about importing Canadian Land Cruisers to the US of A. There were lots of scary stories, most of which ended successfully but with the warning “Don’t be a fool like Me, Pay A Registered Importer…”

There was even a case of a guy getting a Land Cruiser delivered to California, paying for it with empty assurance of a forthcoming Letter from Toyota, and then not being able to register it, not having any customs paper allowing the vehicle into the country and then having to drive to Canadia to get it re-imported correctly.

I’ve spent the last 3 or 4 nights reading about this issue, and about what is needed to import a BJ60 from Canadia. One thing I noticed… the inqueries and problems involving BJ60s all disappeared around the time they turned 25 years old… Then I read the NHTSA docs, and also the EPA docs, and then spoke on the phone with the folks at the Lynden Crossing about this, so am starting to feel ok about this being possible for an idiot like me.

Here’s my understanding. There are two forms needed to enter the US with a 1984 BJ60:

– NHTSA: Form HS-7 (Rev 05-2006): Declaration Importation of Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Equipment Subject to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety, Bumper and Theft Prevention Standards:
I can check box 1, since vehicle is more than 25 years old.

BANG! Done.

– EPA Form 3520-1 (Rev 10-10) Declaration Form Importation of Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Engines Subject to Federal Air Pollution Regulations:
I get to check Code E (bottom of the form):

“Vehicle at least 21 years old and in original unmodified configuration is either exempted or excluded from EPA emission requirements, depending on age. Vehicles at least 21 years old with replacement engines are not eligible for this exemption unless they contain equivalent or newer EPA certified engines.”
Customs may require proof of vehicle age.

BAM! Done with that too.

I also need the original Canadian Registration Paper Signed to me (that makes me the owner). And after I’ve paid Duty of 2.5% of value of car minus my $800 exclusion, I’ll get a paper from customs that says the vehicle is legal to have in the US.

The next step is then: what is needed to satisfy the state of washington? Do I need a temporary trip permit to even drive the car in Washington State? Turns out no:

I went to a Licensing Office today, they said the Canadian Registeration is Valid for me. I have 5 days to submit papers to get it registered. To get a title in my name i need:

  • Customs papers declaring that the us gov thinks its ok for this vehicle to be in the states.
  • Original Canadian Registration Signed over to me.
  • Bill of Sale (completed by seller and myself)

The car is more than 25 years old, so no subject to emissions testing. Its also a Diesel, so not subject to emissions testing. Word on internets, I need to make it very clear that this is a diesel, but that might only matter for newer vehicles.

Then I’ll pay tax on teh car, and someday in teh future I’ll get PLATES! Won’t that be an amazing day…

Leave a comment